Mao Kamata

Mao Kamata, age 21, university student.

 

Hello. I am Mao Kamata. I was born in 1997 and am 21 years old. I am a university student majoring Linguistics. I could have an opportunity to study abroad in Australia for a year as well.

 

I felt disturbing when I read the situations that many of my age were facing during the war. I also felt sorry for doing whatever I like without being worried about what is happening tomorrow. But I’m more thankful for you surviving the war because we wouldn’t have even been born if you had given up living at that time.

 

It is said that the war you experienced is the worst event in the world history. All of you have all different experiences and thoughts that have been making the current generation think what the right decision was at that time or what we should do to not repeat the tragedy.

 

While I was studying in Australia, I could have some opportunities to share ideas about the war with my friends from other countries. Although it wasn’t always making me feel good, it was still great to learn how others think about it. Some of them were from China and Korea, and they told me what Japan did to them. I don’t know why but I felt so sorry for them. I barely know what Japan did to other countries during the war because I remember how Japan was attacked more than that. Things you were done by someone else is more memorable than things you did to someone else. But it’s peace time. No one should blame about the war now. We should prioritize world peace.

 

Your letters tell everything about the war from every view as citizens, soldiers, victims, or family members. I am so grateful that you shared your stories and I hope it makes a good opportunity for more people to realize importance of peace.