Kasumi Furuhashi

Kasumi Furuhashi, age 22, university student. 

 

The Letter to Ms. Michiko Miyagi 

From Kasumi Furuhashi 

 

The word “the war is not over yet for Okinawa” was hit me hard since I vaguely thought Japan is peaceful now, as a child of the generation have not experienced the war.  I have never thought it is an extension of the war even there is a lot of news about crimes by American soldiers.  I am ashamed of being indifferent and ignorant to the present situation of Okinawa, the part of my own country.  Michiko-san, thank you for telling me this.  You taught that it is our duty to think about the importance of peace and the inhumanness of war and it is important to be smart not to let cause a war since there are more young people who are ignorant to the war like me and less people who experienced the war.  

 

As to translate the letter form Mei Nanmo, I found a photograph collection1 and learned for the first time that there are still remains of the war dead all over the city in Okinawa.  Besides, even a brain had been found out in one of the remains.  “It is not like Japan”, I thought.  It confronted me the cruelness of war and the ignorance of me vividly.  Moreover, I felt that we are still discriminated Okinawa by being indifferent and ignorant even the people are still suffering from American bases and soldiers and feel “the war is not over”.  For the first time, I actually felt “ignorance is sin”. 

 

I lived in Hungary when I was in junior-high and high school.  For high school, I went to the international school in Hungary and I was asked my opinion to the Pacific war in history class.  I could not answer.  I had never thought about it deeply.  Besides, I had thought history is the subject just to memorize since Japanese education of history is specialized for examination.  I think this makes the war just “history” and deprives the chance to think of it deeply.  And it just teaches Japan as the “victim”, but not “aggressor”. Is this right even the world is more globalized so that there are more Japanese going out and more foreigners coming in?  History will be repeated unless we all reflect on the past.  I do not want to experience a war or let my child join it.  To prevent that, I can study and think of the war.  To prevent the society from letting it happen, I can vote with my opinion, boost the interest to the war and expand it.

 

In December 2017, I had the chance to go to Hiroshima and saw Memorial Cenotaph for the Atomic Bomb Victims.  “Let all the soul here in peace, for we shall not repeat the evil.”  I was touched and approved from the bottom of my heart.  However, since I read Michiko-san’s journal, I realized my approval was empty.  There is no meaning unless I study or think enough to have the opinion.  To approve with meaning, I will study the war, try to change the peace which is depended on the sacrifice of Okinawa, and expand the circle of approval.  I will try my best to send this message and your feeling.  Michiko-san, thank you for giving a chance to think of it.  Please watch us over. 

 

*1   Higa, Toyomitsu. Photo Document Hone no Ikusayu 65 Nen Me no Okinawa-sen. Iwanamishoten: Tokyo, 2010. Printed.